About Us

Where We Are

Department of Immunodynamics

Institute for Experimental Immunology and Imaging
www.experimental-immunology.de

Medical Research Centre
University Hospital Essen
Hufelandstraße 55
D-45147 Essen, Germany

Tel. +49 201 723 6013
immundynamik@uk-essen.de

Imaging at the Institute

IMCES (Imaging Center Essen)

The IMCES is the core facility for microscopy of the Institute for Experimental Immunology and Imaging at the Faculty of Medicine, Universitätsklinikum Essen and Universität Duisburg-Essen. The facility brings together state-of-the-art equipment and expertise in light and electron microscopy, in vivo and intravital imaging, and image analysis. The IMCES laboratories and microscopy rooms have permission for working at the S1 and S2 biological safety level.

Techniques / Education

We are employing state of the art technologies to investigate immunological mechanisms. We have a long-standing commitment to excellence in the training of Bachelor, Master and PhD students. PhD student are enrolled into the DFG-funded graduate school BIOME.

  • Cutting edge microscopy 
  • JAVA-based FIJI scripts 
  • Flow cytometry and cell sorting
  • Proteomics and MALDI Imaging
  • Automated image registration

Current Members

Head

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-22 um 08.02.03

Professor Daniel R. Engel
Head of Department

danielrobert.engel@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6055

Administration

Elke Mostler
Project Administration

elke.mostler@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6013

PhD Students

Julia Volke
PhD Student

julia.volke@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Judith Pohl
PhD Student

judith.pohl@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Nirojah Vijitha
PhD Student

nirojah.vijitha@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Kristina Zec
PhD Student

kristina.zec@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

 

Research Assistant

Stephanie Thiebes
Research Assistant

stephanie.thiebes@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 83568

Jenny Bottek
Research Assistant

jenny.bottek@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6072

Camille Soun
Research Assistant

camille.soun@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Student Assistant

Duc_1a

Duc-Viet Trieu
Student Assistant

ducviet.trieu@web.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073