About Us

Where We Are

Institute for Experimental Immunology and Imaging

www.experimental-immunology.de

Medical Research Center
University Hospital Essen
Hufelandstraße 55
D-45147 Essen, Germany

Imaging at the Institute

IMCES (Imaging Center Essen)

The IMCES is the core facility for microscopy of the Institute for Experimental Immunology and Imaging at the Faculty of Medicine, Universitätsklinikum Essen and Universität Duisburg-Essen. The facility brings together state-of-the-art equipment and expertise in light and electron microscopy, in vivo and intravital imaging, and image analysis. The IMCES laboratories and microscopy rooms have permission for working at the S1 and S2 biological safety level.

Education

We have a long-standing commitment to excellence in the training of Bachelor, Master and PhD students.

  • Labrotations
  • Bachelor and Master thesis
  • PhD thesis

Don´t hesitate to contact us.

Current Members

Head

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-22 um 08.02.03

Professor Daniel R. Engel
Head of Department

danielrobert.engel@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6055

Administration

Elke Mostler
Project Administration

Elke.Mostler@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6013

PhD Students

Akanksha Dixit
PhD Student

Akanksha.dixit@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Judith Pohl
PhD Student

Judith.Pohl@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Nirojah Vijitha
PhD Student

Nirojah.vijitha@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Kristina Zec
PhD Student

Kristina.Zec@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Julia Volke
PhD student

julia.volke@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Research Assistant

Stephanie Thiebes
Research Assistant

Stephanie.Thiebes@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 83568

Jenny Bottek
Research Assistant

Jenny.Bottek@uk-essen.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6072

Student Assistant

Anna-Lena Beerlage
Student Assistant

Anna-lena.beerlage@stud.uni-due.de
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Camille Soun
Student Assistant

camille.soun@hotmail.fr
Tel. +49 201 723 6073

Aims

icon1

Mechanistic studies about the dynamic processes during immunological responses.

icon2

Imaging of dynamic processes in vivo by super-resolution microscopy.

icon3

Identification of novel target molecules to modulate inflammatory responses.

Track Record

Over the last 5 years, we have published >15 papers including manuscripts in the renowned journals “Nature Medicine” and “Cell”. Our novel concepts were awarded the “Fritz und Ursula Melcher Award” from the German Society of Immunology and the “Young investigator award” from the University Clinic of Bonn. The group “Immunodynamics” has a long-standing commitment to excellence in the training of Bachelor, Master and PhD students.

Techniques

We are employing state of the art technologies to investigate immunological mechanisms.

  • Cutting edge microscopy 
  • Superresolution: FLIM, STED, FRET, PALM, SIM
  • Flow cytometry and cell sorting
  • Proteomics and MALDI Imaging
  • Computational analyses